Finals and Fitness

Posted: May 9, 2013 in exams, exercise, fitness, Time management, university

As an English major, finals week usually involved countless hours sitting on my rear, with bleary eyes staring at the computer screen, conducting research and writing lengthy term papers. After a while I would begin getting drowsy or just feel the need to move. Do you relate? While taking a break can be beneficial, the risk is getting distracted and not coming back to it soon enough….. or not at all! 

I always tell my students to time the breaks ! I would suggest setting a timer for 15-30 minutes. And, what should you do? In my experience, taking a quick walk, doing some exercises, or any other physical activity can be especially helpful. It relieves stress, wakes you up, and gives your bum a break from sitting! Also, I’d suggest getting a drink, having a healthy snack, or whatever you need to revive your mind and body. However, as soon as your timer goes off, don’t procrastinate….. get back to studying!

Check out the link below to find a great chart for doing a full body workout in just 7 minutes! It fits perfectly into a study break and is great for your mind and body! 

7-Minute Research-Based Full Body Workout!

Comments
  1. Whenever I feel overwhelmed or very stressed, I usually go for a run. It really clears my mind and helps me focus on whatever I need to get done. Great post 🙂

  2. successhacks says:

    I so agree with you! I love to go out for a run when I’m feeling stressed out. There are few things that clear my mind better! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

