Staying Fit Physically and Mentally!

Posted: April 16, 2013 in college schedule, exercise, fitness, learning, study skills, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

ipodWhile I was in college full-time, I was working about 30 hours a week, and I was also a single mother.  It was busy, but I tried to work out every day to stay fit and to relieve stress! Last week, I ran across a list of ideas on the web for combining exercise with studying, and I thought I’d share the gist of each idea from the list and agument it with my own experiences.
1) Be prepared: Always have a notebook, textbook, or flashcards with you. I just take my school bag with me everywhere I go, so that I’m prepared to study when I have time. Many different types of exercise equipment have a book stand, so you can read or study while feeling the burn!
2) Become a multi-tasker: Audio books can be a painless way to do this. My degree is in English, and there was a semester when I had to read about 3 novels a week. I didn’t want to give up my exercise routine, so I started to download audio books to my iPod, and then listen while driving, walking, jogging, or working out. I did have to monitor myself carefully, because I would occasionally tune out. I fixed that by rewinding periodically. I also found it helpful to read a summary of the chapter before I started listening, which made it easier me to follow the audio.
3) Team Up: Do you have a study partner you can take to the gym? If so, quiz each other while working out, and let there be consequences for wrong answers. (Really? 20 Crunches for not knowing the definition of hypothalamus?)
4) Sound Off! You might also be able to memorize material while running, using the cadence of your steps to help you memorize. I can testify that this works well. When I was taking Spanish class, I probably memorized 90% of my vocabulary and verb conjugation charts this way. I used the myndology flash cards so that I didn’t have to worry about losing or dropping the cards. This of course, can also be done while working out on a treadmill, elliptical machine, or stationery bike.myndology pink
5) Suffer the Consequences: Quiz yourself while on a stationary bike or treadmill and every time you get something wrong, do a 30-second sprint.
Exercise improves your fitness and well-being; college can be stressful, and exercise has some powerful stress-busting benefits, and the suggestions above are incredibly healthy for you both mentally and physically.
If you have any experience with combining exercise and study, please comment below. I’d love to hear what you have tried and how it worked for you.

Comments
  1. “5) Suffer the Consequences: Quiz yourself while on a stationary bike or treadmill and every time you get something wrong, do a 30-second sprint.”
    >>>

    That looks like an interesting idea but if I were a student doing that, I’d end up doing a lot of sprints haha.

  2. […] Staying Fit Physically and Mentally! […]

  3. […] 5: Review again in a week and any time you have a chance, go over your study questions. (See this post on portable flash […]

Leave a Reply

