Sick Day!

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I woke up with a horrible sore throat and low fever, so I decided I needed to stay home and take a sick day. I didn’t feel bad enough that I was going to get back in bed and sleep all day, so it seemed like a good opportunity to get some work done. I have an independent project due on Thursday, and I wanted to make some progress on it today. I also knew that I wanted to work on developing a few ideas and a schedule for this blog, and I needed to conduct some important work-related research. On top of that, laundry needed to be done! However, I found myself totally wasting the first hour of my “sick day” by random web surfing, unsystematic and pointless tasks, and generally “whittling away my time” with absolutely nothing to show for it. I caught myself and thought, “What would I tell a student to do?” And, with that thought, I refocused and developed a plan. This is what I did:

  1. Set up my work area. Since I was more-or-less planning to sit in bed and rest while accomplishing some things that needed to be done, I started by setting up a neat work area with the tools I would need for the day. This included:  Creating a neat work area by making my bed, setting up a TV tray for my work tools, and several bottles of water, medications, a few snacks.
  2. I got my planner, my blog planner, my timer (ESSENTIAL time management tool for me!), pens/pencils, and necessary books.
  3. I wrote out a to-do list and prioritized them with numbers.
  4. I made a rough schedule for the day.

sick day

Now, I got started with the items on my list and set a timer for each one. The timer is a irreplaceable tool for time management. It helps me stay on track and reminds me when I need to move on to something else. I should mention that if I were running a 102 degree fever and felt terribly sick, I would give myself permission to take the day off and handle these tasks later. But, I feel well enough that there is no reason I cannot do these things while I’m resting. I will give myself permission to take naps if I need them, and if I start feeling worse I won’t force myself to work. However, if I feel well enough to get some things done, taking a few minutes to set up a plan will pay off!

Leave a Reply

